The Beginning

Well, I have not blogged in quite some time. Actually I’ve been busy with other things, and didn’t feel like it… all the usual things. However, I have decided to begin a homeschooling journey and turn this into my homeschool blog.

Why begin now? Well Sarah is now 4 years and 3 months. I am beginning to realize she needs some challenges, something new to think about, and a distraction from screen time, which lately seems to be taking over, mostly because she’s been sick for almost 3 weeks. sigh. She needs something productive to do during the day….

So here are my starting ideas. I will start by teaching her letters. She can recognize most of them, and has good control for writing. We will have “learning time” when Alex goes for his afternoon nap and Daddy is at work. So that usually gives us between 1 and 2 hours. Here is my planned rhythm for the week:

Monday: The letter is drawn on the chalkboard ahead of time by me in white chalk. “mommy” and “baby” letters. We will practice the letter by tracing over top of it with all the colors of chalk we have until we have a beautiful rainbow chalk letter to show Daddy. When we’re done, we can read together until Alex wakes up.

Tuesday: we will bake the letter… I need to find a good recipe for a nice bread dough that can be shaped nicely into letters and baked. Perhaps a pretzel-like dough.

Wednesday: We will draw the letter along with pictures of all the things we can think about that start with that letter.

Thursday: We will paint the letter, nice and big and beautiful on the easel.

Friday: We will play a numbers game… perhaps if Daddy is home he can join in, otherwise it will just be us. Snakes and Ladders, Trouble, and Rummy-O are favorites.

The weekend will be doing whatever we want and the following week we will start again. This will give us a rhythm she can become accustomed to and look forward to. I also plan to spend 2 weeks on each letter, and at the end of the second week the painting will be part of an ongoing banner. I believe Sarah will enjoy the prospect of working on something big and beautiful like a banner.

So that is my beginnning plan. We shall see how well I can execute it. I plan to start on Monday. Once Sarah is feeling better we can add in morning outings with Alex, like the library, the nature center, the muttart conservatory, the art gallery….etc. I think it will make the remaining months of winter pass quickly and come spring we will be ready to add “science” to our homeschooling though nature and the arrival of spring. Sarah is always so full of questions about everything that I don’t think it will take much.

I am actually really excited about this and looking forward to enjoying my time with my Sarah.

2 Comments

  1. Ivan

    Sounds great, good luck. I’m sure Sarah will enjoy it. 🙂

  2. Awesome! We can’t wait to see more! It will be fun to see what you are all learning.

Leave a Reply

